My Husband Cooked ALL Weekend!

This past weekend, my husband blessed me in a way I think only a full-time stay at home and homeschooling mom, with the top “love language” of Acts of Service, can fully appreciate.

Friday night, after some friends left our house, I asked Mike to do breakfast in the morning so I could sleep in.  This is not something unheard of, but admittedly infrequent in my house.  My throat was starting to hurt, and I wanted to do what I could to ward off sickness by getting some extra sleep.  Though I was unable to sleep in (I guess my body is too used to getting up early), Mike still  let me lie in bed while he took care of breakfast.  Later, he offered to make lunch before we hustled our children up to my parent’s house for a sleepover (YAY!).  I wasn’t about to pass up on that offer.

We came back home after dropping our children off and… fell asleep on the couch!  So much for going and doing as we usually take such opportunities to do!  But while I continued to doze on the couch, coming in and out of consciousness, I realized my sweet husband was getting stuff ready for dinner.  And not just any dinner of heated up chicken nuggets (which I would have appreciated nonetheless) but he remembered I had suggested us working together to cook a semi-gourmet dinner at home – and he decided to give it a shot on his own!  He is NOT a regular cook, mind you, and typically gets flustered by some of the most basic meals when it falls to his responsibility.  So I was exceptionally blessed and feeling loved when he went to all that effort to make a fabulous meal!

Needless to say, he was scoring points big time that day, and reaped the benefits of my adoration! 🙂

The next day, he continued his pattern and made a special breakfast for the two of us.  Lunch was leftovers, and dinner was served at my mom’s house.  A solid of weekend of not cooking!

And not only did he MAKE the meals; he CLEANED the kitchen spotlessly afterwards! (With one exception of the evening meal… he got his mom to clean up after that one!)

This was one of the best weekends of my YEAR!  On par with our getaway to Santa Cruz in January.

You are such a blessing in my life, Mike!  I love you!

2 Responses to “My Husband Cooked ALL Weekend!”

  1. What a great guy! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. norcalmike Says:

    You’re welcome! 🙂

your thoughts

